‘The UN has voted to condemn Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. Here’s which countries voted for it, against it, or abstained from it.


The United Nations has voted strongly in favour of a resolution to condemn Russia’s invasion of Ukraine and demand the withdrawal of its troops.
The resolution was supported by 141 of the 193 members of the UN General Assembly and was only opposed by five members, with the rest abstaining (choosing not to vote) or not in attendance.
Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky told the “unprecedented majority” they had “chosen the right side of history”. Here’s how the world voted.

Who voted against?

5 countries, including:
– Belarus
– Eritrea
– North Korea
– Russia
– Syria

Who abstained?

34 countries, including:
Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Burundi, Central African Republic, China, Congo, Cuba, El Salvador, India, Iran, Iraq, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Lao, Madagascar, Mali, Mongolia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Senegal, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Uganda, Vietnam, Zimbabwe. 

What does the vote achieve?

The UN states that resolutions “are considered to be recommendations and are not legally binding on the Member States”.

“It isn’t going to stop Russian forces in their stride, but it’s a pretty enormous diplomatic win for the Ukrainians and the U.S, and everyone who has got behind them,” the UN Director at the International Crisis Group Richard Gowan said.

Become smarter in three minutes

Get the daily email that makes reading the news actually enjoyable. Stay informed, for free.

Be the smart friend in your group chat

Join thousands of young Aussies and get our 5 min daily newsletter on what matters in your world.

It’s easy. It’s trustworthy. It’s free.